All about children!

Summer is the best time to go on a road trip!  I am planning my first cross-country road trip and I am very excited! My husband and I have been on a few mini road-trips, usually a 5-hour drive. But even though I get all excited about it, after 2 hours, it can get really BORING! So, I usually start a game.

Car games can really help your child with vocabulary, (even in another language), memory and attention skills. In addition, it keeps them occupied in something else other than asking, Are we there yet?!

Here are some of my favorite car games! (I am not sure if these games have real names, so I am making some of them up!)

  1. Name what you see in alphabetical order– Name what you see with letter A (airplane) and then the next person has to name what you said with A and then something with B. Every person starts at the beginning naming everything starting from A. This helps with vocabulary and memory skills.
  2. I spy (ok , this is its real name!) – “I spy something that begins with (the initial letter)”. Helpful for vocabulary and literacy skills.
  3. 20 questions– One person thinks about an object, a person or an animal. The rest of the group asks up to 20 yes/no questions to try and figure out what it is. Helps build language skills.
  4. License Plates (love this one!)- Point to the cars with license plates that start with each one of the letters of the alphabet, in order. (This can take a long time!). Helps learn the alphabet, literacy skills and attention skills.
  5. Counting objects– Choose and object (except cars!) and see how many you can find for a certain period of time. Helps with math skills!
  6. Alphabet country/city– Name countries and/or cities with the chosen letter. This helps with geography!
  7. Cloud shapes – Look at the clouds and see if they make any shape. Helps with creativity and imagination.
  8. Story-making– One person starts with a sentence (“Once upon a time in Rome…”) and each person keeps adding to the story. See what crazy stuff your kids come up with! This is a great activity to develop language and literacy skills.
  9. Colored cars– Each person picks a color. You get one point every time a car with that color passes by. Helps with vocabulary and attention skills.

 As you read this post, I will be on the road! I am going to have so much fun playing these games! I need to increase my vocabulary!

Have you played any of these games? Do you have more to add to the list?

photo: iStock

Comments on: "Car games for a road trip" (2)

  1. Jeanette Cabrera said:

    Excelente como siempre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

