All about children!

Happy Mother’s Day!

Mother’s day is celebrated in more than 40 countries! (I didn’t know that!) I grew up celebrating Mother’s Day on the 2nd Sunday of May by giving my mother a gift, or a card, and maybe flowers. The women in my family, my mom, grandmother, and aunts, would gather and spend that day together, usually at my grandma’s house. I remember gathering with my sister and my cousins and writing “poems” to them. That was fun!!

But I didn’t know how other countries celebrated Mother’s Day. So I did a little research and found that many countries do more or less the same as we do here in the US. However, I read a very interesting one, that I had to share with you!. In Yugoslavia, Mothers’ Day is observed in December. The children sneak into their mother’s bedroom and tie her up in bed. When she awakes she promises to give the children gifts that she has hidden in order to be untied. Hmmmm, doesn’t sound like much fun for the mother!!

To celebrate motherhood, I wanted to know how mothers felt about being a mother. So, I asked a few friends, What is the BEST thing about motherhood? Here is what some of them replied:

The hugs and kisses. No matter what happen that day, that hug and kiss makes everyone better!” –Rosible Ortiz, CA

To see myself through my daughters’ eyes”-Frances Centeno, PR

To witness every step in their development and growth as human beings and always feeling amazed by it”-Dr. Jeanette Cabrera, PR

So let me ask the mother’s out there reading this…what is the best thing about being a mother?

 

photo: iStock

Comments on: "Mother’s day around the world" (7)

  1. tears…..yes, there’s nothing like being a Mom.

  2. Sebastian (10meses) said:

    No soy madre, pero tengo una madre excepcional y lo mejor de todo es que cada vez que lloro al segundo ella esta ahi!

  3. Jeanette Cabrera said:

    MUy bonito. Realmente es maravilloso ser mama.

  4. […] like last month, for Mother’s Day, I wanted to know how other countries celebrate Father’s Day. It seems that in many places, […]

Leave a Reply

